(and tomorrow I've got 10 miles...)
Today's workout was 5 miles at pace. I woke up at about 5:50am, however a little over an hour earlier, I had woken up with a pretty massive charlie horse in my lower left leg. And you know what they say, "what starts in chaos..." Okay, well it wasn't that bad, but I pulled myself out of bed, tried to map out a nice, easy (for the mind, anyway) 5 miles and got myself on my way. First, I notice there are a lot of sirens in the neighborhood, so naturally, I get distracted and completely go away from the route I've mapped out. Ok. Nonetheless, now that I've done about 7 or 8 weeks of training I decided I wouldn't let it stress me out and to just have a goal to be home before I get to 45 minutes. 45 min would have meant 9 min miles, and so that was my goal. Like I said, it was a little rough getting out of bed this morning to begin with. So, I run. And about 2 miles in-more cramping, yet this time it is in my abdomen. I haven't had a side ache in a LOOONNNNGG time. At least not one like this. My breathing was all off, my stride changed...to say the least, it was painful. Ok, changed the song on my iPod, since one of my policies for aches like that is to sing (or speak). I thought I had read somewhere that you need to push more air out and to regulate your breathing you should do that. Really, what do I know. But I think it kinda works. Ok, charlie horse-check, side ache-check. Now we are to at least 3 or 3.5 miles. What else could go wrong. As I run down a (rather large) hill and round the corner for the last mile and a half I notice this shooting pain radiating through the left side of my back. I try to notice if I am doing something to cause it-no, I am not bouncing back and fourth; no it is not happening just when one of my feet hits the ground. Weird. So, I push through until about 4.5ish and fortunately get stopped at a light where I simply bend over and in a yoga like pose-with my hands between my knees I sort of do the "angry cat" pose while standing up....and voila...much better. So, I pull myself together and finish it out.
Wow. And all of that before 7am. I thought maybe my motto for the day would be TGIF...but then I realized that I've got 10 miles to do tomorrow. Perhaps my motto should be GOTV (get out the vodka) or GBIB (get back in bed). Until I decide, check out this 5-miler (5.2383, to be exact) !
Friday, July 31, 2009
Friday, July 24, 2009
NINER!
Nine Miles from downtown Madison......on a fantastic Saturday morning.
Okay, I am having wishful thinking about it being so fantastic-but a girl can dream, can't she?! :) Right now we are having a little bit of a thunderstorm (finally, some summery weather) and I am just hoping that it all clears up come morning. Gotta get those nine miles in. Gotta stick to the plan.
(or try this route. its pretty similar, though less hilly, i think)
Okay, I am having wishful thinking about it being so fantastic-but a girl can dream, can't she?! :) Right now we are having a little bit of a thunderstorm (finally, some summery weather) and I am just hoping that it all clears up come morning. Gotta get those nine miles in. Gotta stick to the plan.
(or try this route. its pretty similar, though less hilly, i think)
Thursday, July 23, 2009
Off -days
Thursday is my off-day in this program and to tell you the truth, I feel like a lazy, fat pig on Thursdays. Ok, Sunday is also my off-day, but for some reason, I don't really feel quite as bad. And, as I write this, I am thinking that perhaps its the weeks when I've got the intervals (400m repeats) that I feel most bad. That is probably the honest truth right there. My shins are still aching nearly three days later and I still feel rather depleted. Hmm. So I blog and I find my answer. I like this. I like it a lot.
Okay, now that I've solved today's big dilemma, I should be getting to bed. 4-miler at pace in the morning! Woohoo. Yay me. This should be good. It will be nice to get back into it in the morning. Later!
Okay, now that I've solved today's big dilemma, I should be getting to bed. 4-miler at pace in the morning! Woohoo. Yay me. This should be good. It will be nice to get back into it in the morning. Later!
Wednesday, July 22, 2009
Mostly for my own memory.
I mapped another 3-mile run out for this morning. Its hardly different, but slightly and since I have at least one run at that distance every single week, I'd better map them all out.
So, we (my two friends who are also following the same training plan as I am) have surpassed the half-way mark to race day, as of this past Saturday. Hooo-ray! For me, the milestone was that (is that) I ran Saturday's workout at a pace that I would find acceptable come race-day. The real distance was 6.5 miles and my total time came to 55min. making my pace 8:27. The last (and only other) half marathon I completed I went at about 8:29 pace. My ultimate goal is to go faster than that, but I have been trying to pace consistently faster than that, especially in the past two weeks of my training. I've run some of my 3-4 milers as fast as 7:34 pace...to about 8:10. And, I've been doing my speed-work quite a bit faster...on accident at first, but nonetheless, faster.
And most importantly, I've realized two things in the last 6 weeks of training.
1. keep a journal of some sort of your training. I have known this, but was recently reminded of its significance. If you pay attention to that, you'll discover some really cool things about yourself. (right now, google calendar is keeping my WHOLE life in order-including my running)
2. pay attention to what your body is telling you-to what you feel. this can be helpful especially if you're keeping a good training log and if you've never really trained before.
3. (ok, there's three) find a good running or training buddy. For one, its nice to at least be able to check in with someone once in a while. (my running buddy is new at this and has recently started calling me "coach" which i think is adorable). Also, once you find a good running buddy, you'll know it and that's a pretty awesome thing!
So, we (my two friends who are also following the same training plan as I am) have surpassed the half-way mark to race day, as of this past Saturday. Hooo-ray! For me, the milestone was that (is that) I ran Saturday's workout at a pace that I would find acceptable come race-day. The real distance was 6.5 miles and my total time came to 55min. making my pace 8:27. The last (and only other) half marathon I completed I went at about 8:29 pace. My ultimate goal is to go faster than that, but I have been trying to pace consistently faster than that, especially in the past two weeks of my training. I've run some of my 3-4 milers as fast as 7:34 pace...to about 8:10. And, I've been doing my speed-work quite a bit faster...on accident at first, but nonetheless, faster.
And most importantly, I've realized two things in the last 6 weeks of training.
1. keep a journal of some sort of your training. I have known this, but was recently reminded of its significance. If you pay attention to that, you'll discover some really cool things about yourself. (right now, google calendar is keeping my WHOLE life in order-including my running)
2. pay attention to what your body is telling you-to what you feel. this can be helpful especially if you're keeping a good training log and if you've never really trained before.
3. (ok, there's three) find a good running or training buddy. For one, its nice to at least be able to check in with someone once in a while. (my running buddy is new at this and has recently started calling me "coach" which i think is adorable). Also, once you find a good running buddy, you'll know it and that's a pretty awesome thing!
Sunday, July 19, 2009
change of pace
So, looking at this week's workout's I've realized that the Monday run has become four and a half miles now. Because I am feeling a little repetitive, I've come up with a fantastically simple route for a Monday morning. Out and back. :) Catch ya later!
Wednesday, July 15, 2009
three!
My training plan calls for 3 miles at least once a week. This morning I couldn't remember the exact route I usually run...and quite frankly, I am getting a little sick of it. I guess that's what happens when you start and end in the same place nearly every day. 6 days a week. 12 weeks of a training plan. So, I changed it up just a little bit this morning and this is my newest 3 mile route. (3.13, to be more specific) It is nice living in a neighborhood with lots of turns because I can add or subtract a block here and there and it sometimes takes me down into a whole new, exciting neighborhood.
Thursday, July 9, 2009
another ocho
Trying to find another eight-miler in another part of town...here's what I came up with!
Time, 1 hour 19 min. (9:47 pace)
Time, 1 hour 19 min. (9:47 pace)
Sunday, July 5, 2009
4...point 1 miles
Because I can't even remember how far the routes I do most often are...here is my ~4miler. I did it last week. I am doing it again...sometimes I do it in reverse, just to change things up a little bit. Enjoy!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
